Thursday Special: My 200th Blog Post

I celebrate my 200th post to-day with a link to my first post. I also submit this post to Thursday Special, that Paula of Lost in Translation has set up. I entitled my first post “Impossible? Possible!” It was the banner in the photo that gave me the inspiration to start blogging, and the words also reflected my determination to power walk to bring health to my life. Blogging and power walking are now two activities that I engage in regularly, together with my other passions–reading, food, and music and art.

I was standing under the same banner at the start line of the Sporting Life 10K earlier this year in May and took a picture of it myself. It dawned on me too that I had been blogging for one year. These two activities have enabled me to connect with many lovely people, who have shared with me their interests and their lives. They have broadened my perspectives, challenged my usual way of thinking, and in short, they have enriched my life.

My walking friends have supported me through races and hikes. I have covered distances that I have never dreamt that I am capable of doing. They have also given me the privilege to share their blessings and joys, as well as trial and tribulations. Without walking with them, and being part of their non-walking related activities, about half of the contents of this blog would have been missing.

My blogging friends (yes, although we have never met, yet I consider you my friends) are generous and embracing. They open their world to me. Their posts have made me laugh, made me cry or rendered me speechless in awe.  I learn about books, movies, music, crafts and hikes, as well as classics. Their blogs have taught me how to take pictures, how to write and how to cook. They help me update my bucket list of things to do and places to go. They have offered me comments and “likes” that have encouraged me to keep blogging better posts. The benefits I have derived are too numerous to count.

Now that I have reached the 200th post mark, I want to take this opportunity to thank you all from the bottom of my heart.

This blogging milestone is making me reflective, but not sentimental. I am determined to live by the Tagline of this blog to “age with peace of mind”. I have made a choice to appreciate my blessings in the vicissitudes of life. I have likened races as a metaphor of life. Walking and Blogging are part of my Life. Thank you for celebrating my 200th post with me–if you reach this far–and so, let us walk on and blog on.

For other Thursday Special posts this week, check out: Lost in Translation.

 

Jupiter's widget

24 thoughts on “Thursday Special: My 200th Blog Post

  1. Amy

    Congratulations for the 200th post milestone! I appreciate you generously sharing you thought, insights, stories, and beautiful photos. Always looking forward to read your well-written post and your thoughtful comments 🙂

    Reply
  2. Paula

    Congratulations Opalla!!! I’m sorry I have missed your link yesterday – my connection is unreliable on my holiday. I’d like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and experiences with all of us here. It feels great and empowering to be able to challenge oneself. I am happy to see you have overcome your health problems and are able to enjoy life fully. Keep well. Hugs, Paula

    Reply
    1. Opalla Post author

      I appreciate the platform you have given so that bloggers can express themselves in Thursday Special; thanks! I am fine, Paula; “as good as it can be,” I would say. Hugs, 🙂

      Reply
  3. Pingback: Thursday’s Special: A Short Man, a Tall Woman, and a Dog aka Passeggiata | Lost in Translation

  4. amandarenee0224

    WOW! I found your blog from Thursday Special and I just have to say….wow! What an amazing post, it made me tear up a bit! I totally agree with you, I love blogs because they teach you so much and help change your point of view. Or they help you to learn new things! I’m pretty new myself, hoping that I can get to the big 200 too! Congratulations on your 200th post!

    Reply
    1. Opalla Post author

      Thank you and so nice of you to comment! I did not dream of myself getting this far when I started, but people are very supportive here. I am sure you can do it too. Do drop by again, and good luck!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

