Walking on Winter Solstice

Winter Solstice arrived in Canada on Friday, December 21 at 6:10 a.m EST this year. Snow was in the forecast, but when I woke up this morning, the ground was only slightly wet from last night’s rain. I had planned for a walk before the poor weather set in.  It was a cool morning and still dark when I headed out.  When I arrived at Princess Point of Cootes Paradise in Hamilton, the first winter sun was beginning to rise.

SolsticeSun1

SolsticeSun2

I had not walked on this trail for a while and one thing that I distinctly noticed was a much bigger beaver dam. This was a feature I noticed earlier in the year on the Desjardins Recreation Trail. It was evident that the beaver and its family were not only around, but were making their home bigger with the unfortunate result of damaging the vegetation on the trail.

SolsticeDam

As I continued on, I was surprised to see the ducks still out. Like me, they were probably taking advantage of the weather to have another workout before winter set in. I guess on my next walk, the water will be frozen.

SolsticeDucks

My walk this morning took me to Hamilton Yacht Club, and this was where I turned around.

SolsticePier

I have felt refreshed after my walk and both body and mind are ready to enjoy Christmas with its festivities and socialization. I often feel hopeful on the day of Winter Solstice. Tonight will be the longest night. After tonight, the day will begin to get shorter and this is certainly worth looking forward to.

5 thoughts on “Walking on Winter Solstice

  1. Pingback: Cheering Leading At The Boxing Day 10-Miler, Hamilton | OpallaOnTrails

Leave a Reply

