The River and Bridge Walk in Saskatoon

Saskatoon is known as the City of Bridges. My favourite walking route is along the South Saskatchewan River between Broadway Bridge and Railway Bridge. On this walk, I am going to take you through the most scenic part of Saskatoon, which also forms part of the route of the Saskatoon Marathon and Half Marathon, in case you want to race there one day.

I begin my walk through a nice residential area near the Royal University Hospital to Broadway, which is considered to be a “hip” area of town and I arrive at  the Broadway Bridge.

Looking south, I see the Victoria Bridge (also known as the Iron Bridge) which is now closed to traffic due to its age. Looking over the bridge on the river bank, I see some painted stones. University Bridge is to my north. The Meevasin Trail runs on both sides of the river bank. I cross the bridge to the west bank of the river.

I am on Spadina Crescent East. I have chosen to walk on the tree-lined sidewalk by the Kiwanis Memorial Park to look at some city sights to reach the Bessborough Hotel. The Meevasin Valley Trail runs through the park, but at this time of the summer, tents have been set up in the park for the outdoor Shakespeare production and I decide not to go into the park.

I press on, past the Ukrainian Museum of Canada, and take the underpass of the University Bridge to avoid the intricate network of pedestrian crossings to continue on Spadina Crescent East. On my right is a residential area and on the left is the river overlooking the University of Saskatchewan campus. The Mendel Museum is my next landmark. This is the best part of the walk: I inhale the air imbued with morning freshness and slow down to admire the ancient trees with a canopy of leaves looking emerald green after the rain from the night before.

The next bridge I reach is the Railway Bridge at the Meevasin Waterworks. I walk on the bridge to take some pictures of the very full river–Saskatoon is lucky enough to escape the flood that has created havoc in Calgary since a month ago.

1-IMG_1509

1-IMG_1508

This is my turn around point. I do not cross over to the other side of the river to use the trail by the university campus, because it is more deserted. I decide to walk on the trail on the same bank I have come up and it is better maintained.

University Bridge is in sight. A monument marks the ramp to the Bridge. By this time, the sun has come out. I take a look towards the Broadway Bridge, and another look at the Railway Bridge to absorb the scenery. I  say goodbye to the river the bridges and return home on another tree-lined residential avenue.

18 thoughts on “The River and Bridge Walk in Saskatoon

    1. Opalla Post author

      Saskatoon has all the amenities of a big city but the serenity of a small town. It is like a retreat each time I visit. 🙂

      Reply
    1. Opalla Post author

      I have looked it up, Johanna. Saskatoon is Cree, and it is named after the juicy red berries grown in the area “saskatoonberry”, and not the other way round. Interesting really.

      Reply
    1. Opalla Post author

      Thanks for dropping by. While Toronto is hot and muggy in the summer, Saskatoon has a dry heat, and it is very pleasant.

      Reply
    1. Opalla Post author

      Thanks Seeker! Trail walking is like a retreat to me–cleanse the thoughts, cleanse the mind and be close to nature. 🙂

      Reply
  1. Allyson Mellone

    Opalla, that must have been a refreshing morning walk. It seems so in your pictures. To have a varied and green landscape to walk in is something I dearly miss. Saskatoon has so much natural beauty to rejuvenate your mind and body. I can imagine how beautiful it must be in the Autumn and Winter.

    Reply
    1. Opalla Post author

      Yes, Allyson, I have been there in the Fall and all the leaves turn golden–they don’t have maple like Ontario and therefore no red–but I’ve never gone in Winter (Minus 30 Centigrade). People say it is a dry cold and does not feel that bad. 🙂

      Reply
    1. Opalla Post author

      My understanding is that the bridge is still in use, but I never encounter a situation with the train rolling across the river while I stand on the bridge. That should be exciting too.

      Reply
      1. Mary Gilmartin

        Yes, it would be exciting when a train rolled by. Every time I mention to friends that I sometimes walk the railroad tracks, they remind me to be careful because they knew a man that was standing in the middle of one taking photographs when the train came by unexpected and now he is no longer here. PS: Hopefully, I never do that but if I ever do then I think I will take a friend with me and ask them to be my second eyes to look-out for a train that might be coming by.

  2. cchipy@yahoo.com

    hi everyone ,,my name is terry from Ireland and I worked in Saskatoon for a couple of years ,, on my time off I walked that walk every morning,, boy was I lucky,, I walked the railway bridge in minus 38 one morning ,, beautiful beyond belief and I walked it at plus 35 one afternoon and guess what ? it was still beautiful ,, I was on that bridge several times as a train passed and it shook and trembled but didn’t fold ,,lol,, it is quite a walk ,, the best I have ever had,, just thought I would share with you guys ,, if your in sask do this walk and everyone about it ,, cheers

    Reply

Leave a Reply

