The Perfect Kichen: Perfect Cantonese Dining

1-IMG_1205

I live in the suburb and this means that every time my husband and I want to dine out in a Chinese restaurant, we have to drive about half an hour to get to somewhere we can find authentic Chinese food. I do not mean to belittle the local restaurants serving Chinese food in the ever-so-popular buffet style with primarily Chinese dishes and Japanese sushi. In fact, I go to them occasionally for an indulgence to sample many dishes in one seating.

I have been to the Perfect Kitchen in Mississauga, Ontario more than once. They serve a Cantonese menu and also have dim sum at lunchtime. Their food fits my definition of authentic Cantonese cuisine, and the price is reasonable. For three people that evening, we ordered two meats and a vegetarian hot pot. The stir fry beef was sizzling hot when it was served, and the sweet and sour spare ribs lived up to the standard of being one of my favourites on the menu. The mixed vegetables dish was the best.  There were baby bok choy, broccoli, spinach, carrots and  Chinese mushroom braised with vermicelli. All went well with a bowl of fluffy rice.

The Perfect Kitchen, Unit 1, 2075 Ridgeway Drive, Mississauga, Ontario.

6 thoughts on “The Perfect Kichen: Perfect Cantonese Dining

  1. Pingback: Food for a dumb vegetarian – bitter melon and more |

  2. Janet Williams

    I love you describe the rice as ‘fluffy’. It reminds me of snow. The vegetable with mushrooms looked great — not overcooked. But, I would normally chop off the bottom (or pull all eaves apart) of the vegetable bak choi before cooking. Did I see quite a bit of starch in the vegetable? I haven’t used starch in cooking for a long time.

    Reply
    1. Opalla Post author

      Nice observation Janet! Yes, the cooking is restaurant-style, like using starch to make a clear sauce that I would omit at home, and I too would pull the leaves apart before cooking to make sure the sand is washed off from the bok choy stem. From what I know, restaurants soak the baby bok choy is a basin of water for a long time to wash off the sand.

      Reply
    1. Opalla Post author

      Yes, it is, Amy. The only problem sometimes with Chinese restaurants serving authentic Chinese cuisine is they use too much oil. Home cooking is definitely less greasy. Thanks for your comment. 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

