English Afternoon Tea at the King Edward Hotel

English afternoon tea often leads one to imagine an elegant surrounding, fine china and expensive cutlery. One sips the tea, served with delicate pastries, sandwiches, and scones with clotted cream and jam. This is exactly what the Victoria’s at the King Edward Hotel in Toronto offers to its patrons.

1-IMG_1181

We were seated in a spacious room with large paintings on the wall. Service was attentive  and never intrusive. While we studied the menu, the waiter left us with a box of tea to sample our choices. I selected my favourite, Lapsang Souchong, while my companions chose Darjeeling and Assam, respectively. We also settled for the King’s Tea, deciding that we did not need the other option with champagne included.

1-IMG_1187

Our tea was served in Wedgewood china. The sandwiches arrived next and the selection included beef, salmon, egg and chicken. I was slightly disappointed that cucumber sandwich was not included. A three-tier tray arrived with the scones, lemon macaroon, maple tart, cheesecake  and strawberry mousse. They were delicious. My companions and I relaxed and chatted. Quite naturally our discussion also touched on what is the proper way to hold a teacup, and whether to put milk into the tea first. My blog friend Janet has written an interesting post about that recently too. The Victoria’s  had given us a leisurely break from the busy world outside.

9 thoughts on “English Afternoon Tea at the King Edward Hotel

  1. Janet Williams

    Wow! The display looked absolutely stunning! You’re more British than I’m. I don’t normally get this type of luxury here. Wedgewood china? That speaks so much about your expensive taste.

    I’m going to ‘entertain’ you with some ‘fact’. I mentioned the book, Watching the English, by Kate Fox (a social anthropologist), in my post. In this book, Kate Fox revealed her findings:

    “…Some pretentious middles and upper-middles make an ostentatious point of drinking Lapsang Souchong, without milk or sugar, as this is about as far removed from working-class tea as they can get. …”

    Reply
    1. Opalla Post author

      Interesting…I really must get Kate Fox’s book to get a good a laugh about what she writes about. I put milk in my Lapsang Souchong, but not sugar, because I don’t take sugar in my tea of coffee. 🙂

      Reply
  2. restlessjo

    It looks wonderfully civilised, Opalla. I did tea at the Ritz a couple of years ago with a group of lady friends. We were celebrating retirement and it was nice to do something a bit special. 🙂

    Reply
  3. Pingback: Thursday Special: Serendipity (A New Tea House in Burlington) | OpallaOnTrails

Leave a Reply

