Real Thailand Restaurant Re-visited

1-IMG_0765

I have not eaten out in the area near Bloor Street and Spadina Avenue in downtown Toronto as much as I used to in recent years. The other night, although we were in a hurry, my husband and I felt we should dine at the Real Thailand Restaurant, one of our favourites,  to relive some flavours we missed. I did not notice any difference in the decor when I walked inside. There was an open dining area, and ethnic Thai decorations.

1-IMG_07701-IMG_0766

We ordered Green Curry Chicken (Kang Kheaw Wan Kai) and Stir Fry Asparagus with Shitake Mushrooms in a chili garlic sauce (Pan Nomai Sod) to go with white rice. We told the waitress that we had to leave by a certain time, and service was prompt.  The meal was delicious. I liked the green curry because even with coconut milk as an ingredient, it did not taste too sweet. The taste of the asparagus and mushrooms was an interesting combination.

I really wanted to stay longer and order my favourite Thai dessert, the sticky rice. However, we had to go and I had to promise myself that I should return before too long. Their Pad Thai used to be my staple at lunch time. Their shrimps and duck dishes were also top on my dinner selections.

The Real Thailand Restaurant is known to all the locals, from students and staff of the University of Toronto, workers downtown near the Bloor and Spadina area and residents in the neighbourhood. Prices are affordable and services friendly. If you have never been there, it is definitely worth a try, and you will probably keep returning to it.

Real Thailand Restaurant, 350 Bloor Street West, Toronto, Ontario.

Real Thailand on Urbanspoon

6 thoughts on “Real Thailand Restaurant Re-visited

  1. sustainabilitea

    We like Thai food a lot. There used to be a wonderful Vietnamese restaurant in Toronto that we found on our honeymoon in 1984. Don’t remember the name. But we went back some years later, with one of our main objectives to eat there again, and it was gone. We found some wonderful food, but it was sad. Haven’t been to Toronto for years. This makes me want to go again.

    janet

    Reply
    1. Opalla Post author

      Toronto is so blessed with its multi-cultural population and cuisine. Just the area near Bloor and Spadina offers Thai, Nepalese, Japanese, Korean, Chinese, Vietnamese and many more. Hope you’ll come back!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

