Kitchen Renovation (4): Plumbing, ducts and lights

After the tearing down of my kitchen, the plumber, the duct and vent installer, and the electrician with his assistant appeared as planned in the ensuing days. They were friendly and efficient.

New pipes were installed, because by opening a wider door, the pipes had to be moved. I did not feel too much inconvenience. I could not flush the toilet for over half a day, and the main was shut down for about half an hour.  The plumber’s assistant came the following day and gave me a new vent.

1-IMG_0896

I was very impressed by the electrician and his assistant. For me, it was an eye-opening experience to see how much was involved in electrical work that was behind the scene. Since my renovation involved installing new outlets, re-positioning existing ones and installing pot lights in the ceiling, it took them twelve hours to get the work done. I tipped my hat to their work ethics. They told me that they had a schedule to keep, and as long as I did not mind, they wanted to complete the job. Why would I mind?

The team had been working for ten days and the ground work was done. The supervisor  dropped by at the end of the day and was pleased. He told me that an inspector would come to look at the electric work, and the dry wall team would be next. So far so good, I said to myself.

7 thoughts on “Kitchen Renovation (4): Plumbing, ducts and lights

  1. Anjo Angela Lim

    I know, the electrical inputs and everything seems rather scary and I feel electricians etc are so under appreciated for their work!Love the progress pics, keep ’em coming! 😉

    Reply
  2. kbvollmarblog

    Dear Opalla,
    what a coincident I just finished my kitchen refurbishment yesterday and I am very happy with the result. Tonight my neighbours will come around for a big dinner to celebrate my new kitchen. All the best for your kitchen job.
    Greetings from the sunny coast of North Norfolk
    Klausbernd

    Reply
    1. Opalla Post author

      Thanks for dropping by, Klausbernd. It’s so good that you like your kitchen. Renovation is a big job, and I am beginning to see the end of the tunnel. Have a wonderful party!
      Opalla

      Reply
  3. Pingback: Kitchen Renovation (5): The Long Wait, and Suddenly… | OpallaOnTrails

Leave a Reply

