Weekly Photo Challenge: CHANGE (Kitchen Renovation 3: Go, Going, Gone!)

1-IMG_1071

This is a stage of my kitchen renovation which fits into the Weekly Photo Challenge Theme: CHANGE.

A dump bin was placed outside my house on the drive way. The two workmen came. We had a mini-conference as to what I would like to keep. In fact, my friend had wanted my old cabinets and the workmen were extremely helpful in keeping them intact and moving them to the garage for my friend to pick up. Then the banging began.

1-IMG_0650

I could not bear to stay around because the images of knocking down cabinets and walls on  the television show Restaurant Makeover and similar programmes were too vivid and harrowing to me. Furthermore, with the noise going on, I could not even work at home. My home was dusty, despite the sealing of the doors and the staircase. The tearing down took them three days.

1-IMG_0656

1-IMG_0658

1-IMG_0660

By the end, the floor was only a pile of rumbles, the ceiling was gone, the sink was gone, the pipes were exposed and part of a wall was knocked down. I was excited to see a bigger kitchen–of course, because the cabinets were all gone (silly me)–and the wider door was what I had wanted.

So far so good. The supervisor dropped by at the end of the day. I was pleased with the way the workmen tidied up the place every day before they left. So far, I had no complaint.

9 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: CHANGE (Kitchen Renovation 3: Go, Going, Gone!)

  1. Pingback: Kitchen Renovation (4): Plumbing, ducts and lights | OpallaOnTrails

  2. Pingback: Kitchen Renovation (6): The Final Lag and Finish Line! | OpallaOnTrails

Leave a Reply

