Greetings On Chinese New Year Day: Kung Hei Fat Choy

Candy Tray

Candy Tray

Kung Hei Fat Choy! It means congratulations on making a fortune. This is how we greet one another on Chinese New Year Day, before we add on other greetings for good health, good luck and all your wishes come true. With my candy tray, I want to wish my readers a Very Happy Lunar New Year!

Most of the food items for Chinese New Years are symbols of something auspicious. I have in the middle of my tray melon seeds (red is lucky and seeds are a symbol of life, and a homophone for silver) and chocolate gold coins. The older generation like to ask their guest to dip in for some silver. We hardly hear this saying any more these days.  I have surrounding the seeds sugar lotus seeds (having sons in succession or every year); sugar shredded coconut (having both grandfather and son , i.e., a three generation family); sugar kum quat (homophone for gold and luck); and sugar ginger. 

I have put two chocolate gold coins for decoration, and two laisee envelopes with the tray. They are the lucky money packets, which are also handed out by people who are married to the younger generation in the family. I am bringing a lot of these to the family gathering today.

 I also want to serve you with some snacks: the sugar rings I made earlier in the week, sesame balls (smiling balls, because they crack when they are deep fried),  prawn crackers (homophone for ‘ha’, laughing} and deep fried dumplings (the shape is a smiley). These are all to wish you good luck, good health and prosperity in the New Year!

12 thoughts on “Greetings On Chinese New Year Day: Kung Hei Fat Choy

  1. Janet Williams

    I remember these snacks. What a fantastic display of these lovely New Year treats. I’ve bought a lot of tangerines and some prawn crackers too. I gave my son some money in the red envelop after making him say some auspicious words to me this morning. I wish you all the best in the New Year.

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Chinese New Year Is About Food And Family | OpallaOnTrails

Leave a Reply

