Weekly Photo Challenge: BEYOND

The city of Athens from Mars Hill

The city of Athens from Mars Hill

I am on top of Aeropagues (Hill of Ares in Greek) in Athens, Greece. It is also known as Mars (Roman God of War) Hill. I am looking towards the Hill of the Nymphs, with typical residential architecture in the foreground. I capture mid-distance the Agia Marina Church with its red domes, and the National Observatory with its outstanding black roof. Far beyond lies the city of Athens.

Our tour group makes a special trip to Aeropagus after looking down on it from the Acropolis the day before. This is where Paul delivered the famous Aeropagus sermon, admonishing the Greeks for believing in pagan gods. Standing on top of this hill, looking at the city far beyond, I can only stretch my wildest imagination to visualize what Paul would have seen in his days. The view is breathtaking.The world spreads under my feet. I want to open my arms to embrace everything that comes within my view.

Mars Hill and the City of Athens from the Acropolis

Mars Hill and the City of Athens from the Acropolis

3 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: BEYOND

Leave a Reply

