2012 in 2012 Challenge

The Sore Foot Medal

The Sore Foot Medal

“I’ve done it! Yeah!”

I announced this to my walking group at the end of class the other night, and my friends came around to congratulate me. They all knew what was going on. For me, it was also a first in my life–I walked 2012 Km in 2012!

In January this year, many of us committed ourselves to this 2012 in 2012 Challenge initiated by our walking coach Lee Scott and our goal was to walk 2012 Km in the year 2012. The only rule was to exclude walking indoors (except for treadmill training), and walking from the car park to the shops or to the office. The idea was to power walk, or at least walk briskly enough to bring our heart rates up to achieve some health benefits. Hiking was acceptable too.

The Challenge started on January 1, 2012 and ended on December 22, 2012. Translated into actual walking routine, we were aiming for a weekly distance of 42 Km, and a monthly total of 167.76 Km. As ongoing reinforcement, we sent in our mileage at the end of each month, and the names of people who had walked 167.76 Km were entered into a draw for a gift.  We also received a gift coupon for shoes or clothing at the 800 Km and 1600 Km mark. By the end of November, some of us have reached the goal of 2012 Km. Several of us were still working hard. Due to my travelling earlier in the year, I was still walking in December. I knew I would do it, and that I could do it too.

During the year, I won a monthly draw and I loved the cap, the mitts, the shoe laces and a log book I received. I also bought shoes and clothing with my 800 Km and 1600 Km coupons.

The big day was our end of year walk that our head coach had  organized to bring people together to celebrate our achievements over coffee, tea and hot cider, as well as muffins and cookies. We gathered at Sovereign House, a building belonging to the Bronte Historical Society and ceremoniously walked 8 Km.

MuffinHouse

MuffinWalk2

Those of us who completed the challenge were awarded The Sore Foot Medal (see above) for keepsake. It was a lovely way to end the year in which I learned that my perseverance to walk 2012 Km has improved my fitness and maintained my weight. Challenge or no challenge in the coming year, I am already committed to leading a healthy lifestyle and to continue with my hiking and power walking!

6 thoughts on “2012 in 2012 Challenge

  1. Pingback: Winter Training: Bring It On! | OpallaOnTrails

    1. Opalla Post author

      Thanks! I can eat and try out recipes, including yours which are very healthy anyway, with no qualms as long as I can hike and walk. 🙂

      Reply
  2. Pingback: 2013 – So, what now? | After the kids leave

    1. Opalla Post author

      Way to go, Wendy! You can do it! Thanks for quoting me in your Blog. I like all your goals for 2013, especially the one on cleaning up the house. Thanks for the inspiration!

      Reply
  3. Pingback: 2013 – So, what now? | After the Kids Leave

Leave a Reply

