Sydney’s Rock ‘n Roll

I like markets and I like walks. That is why I am always attracted back to The Rocks when I visit Sydney, Australia. This part of the city possesses a unique personality that embraces the old and the new. It exudes characteristics representing the indigenous native culture as well as those brought in by immigrants. Here I find food, music, as well as arts and crafts.

On week days, one can take a stroll along the historical lanes and look out for historical buildings and sites at The Rocks. This was the location where early settlers landed and  where Sydney as we know now was born. 

The walls of the original Sydney General Hospital still remain and there is a Surgeons Court and a Nurses Walk.

I like to visit The Rocks when the street markets are open on Saturday and Sunday. I immerse myself among the tourists and the locals to soak up the vitality and vibrancy The Rocks offers.

The Rocks is a gold mine of creative arts and crafts. I never tire admiring the display of the old and new vendors. For a touch of nostalgia, the Susannah Place Museum has a little shop furnished with products there were sold in the early 20th century.

4 thoughts on “Sydney’s Rock ‘n Roll

Leave a Reply

