Walking in Ottawa (1): Rideau River Trail

The best way to know a city is by walking. Sounds like a cliche, but there are different definitions of walking in a city.  I have been to Ottawa several times. Every time, I walked a lot– to Byward Market, up Parliament Hill, to the museums and galleries, and walking inside and outside the sightseeing attractions.

The walking I did on my recent visit to Ottawa was slightly different, but well worth it! I walked for the sake of walking, and Ottawa had some good places to offer.

I walked on the trail along Rideau River. It was paved, scenic and well maintained.

A yellow line was painted down the middle of the trail to demarcate up and down traffic, even when it ran on the side walk.

This was helpful, since there were many cyclists as well as runners and walkers using this trail even in the early morning hours I was out there.

I followed this trail from near the RCMP Headquarters to Sussex Drive, and it was about 10K out and back.  I saw maps along the trail, as well as signs showing where to enter the trail from the residential areas nearby.

I passed by a rapid,

and then saw some geese.

As I approached Sussex Drive, a building with interesting architecture came into view on the other side of the river bank.

A cyclist told me that it was the old city hall and I saw a bridge which would take me over to the opposite bank to explore its grounds; maybe that’s for my next visit.

A big city does not need to sprawl. Ottawa doesn’t and I like it for its accessibility. With my walk on this trail, I no longer feel like a tourist in Ottawa. I feel privileged that I have done something that any ordinary citizen would do in the capital city. I would like to come back many times more.

4 thoughts on “Walking in Ottawa (1): Rideau River Trail

  1. Pingback: I’m close to leaving Ottawa :-( | Yummy Lummy

    1. Opalla Post author

      I hope your culinary experience has made up for the unexpected moments. Glad you tried beaver tail again. Thanks for dropping by.

      Reply
    2. Opalla Post author

      Sorry about your lost luggage. You seemed able to go to many places on this short visit. I shall be in Sydney this Fall and from previous experience, the long flight is not what I look forward to. Hope you trip home is good.

      Reply
  2. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Reflections | OpallaOnTrails

Leave a Reply

