My Turn to Say Thank You: Reader Appreciation Award

reader-appreciation-award

Liz (aka elleturner4) informed me that she had nominated me for the Reader Appreciation Award. Well aware that these awards work like chain letters without its threatening dire effects for not responding, I am still curious about what these awards are all about, having savoured only recently the sweetness of the Liebster Award.

It was Laawentura of My Sardinian Life who posted about this award for the first time on June 13, 2012 and it’s really amazing how this chain effect spiraled in blog sphere  I quote from Laawentura, “I’m giving an award to those that have made this past year of blogging worthwhile. You have kept me on my toes, left comments, advice and tons of encouragement. For this I am grateful. Thank you.” I am glad I have traced the source.

The rules as laid down include:

  1. Award your top 6 bloggers who have commented the most.
  2. Be thankful.
  3. You cannot award someone who has already been awarded. And you cannot give the award back to me.
  4. Don’t forget to tell the bloggers you’ve awarded.
  5. If you don’t want to pass on this award, that’s okay to. Just admire it.

I thank Liz for considering me worthy of this award, and I am sure as the award has evolved, the responsibilities have changed somewhat along the way. Following Liz’s instructions, I have posted the icon, and put a link to her Blog, where she posts beautiful photography and she has a brilliant sense of humour when she writes. I appreciate her sensitivity to apparently mundane features in the world around her with which she can create a lovely post. By receiving this award, I also have to answer Liz’s questions (somebody must have included them on the way):

1. What is your favourite colour?  Hard to say, right now, blue and some shades of it.

2. What is your favourite animal?   Gazelles.

3. What is your favourite non-alcoholic drink?   Tea–and that includes most Chinese tea, such as the Iron Buddha, Ooloong and Jasmine, just to name a few. As for English tea, I enjoy Earl Grey, Darjeeling, and when I am in the mood, Lapsang Souchong (Yes!)

4. What is your favourite number?  Three.

5. What is your favourite day of the week?  Saturday

6. What is your favourite flower?   Carnation

7. What is your passion?    Aging gracefully.

8. Do you watch television?  Not really; only when I exercise on my elliptical machine and I switch to the Food Channel.

9. Who is your favourite author?   Too numerous to list.

10. Do you like 80′s movie?   I don’t know. Firstly, I seldom watch movies, and secondly, what makes movies of the 80′s different from other movies?

11. How do you like your eggs?  Soft-boiled.

12. When did you discover blogging?   May 2012.

Okay, that’s done and what I need to do now is to nominate six blogs/bloggers to pass the baton on. The following have commented, responded to my comments and liked my blog, and they have given me a real sense of belonging that I truly appreciate on blog sphere. The nominees are  (according to alphabetical order):

A New Day by Pat is inspirational as well as refined. Pat is active and takes beautiful photography when she travels and she has come a long way dealing with health issues that she writes under another Blog entitled I Miss Me.

Add Grain on Earth frequently posts interesting photos of plants, artifacts and architectural structure, and blogger Sydney makes his message clear that we must treasure the earth we live on.

After the Kids Leave , in which sisters Karen and Wendy blog to each other respectively from Canada and England, and they write about life’s issues with humour and gusto.

The first thing that I notice in retireediary is the amazing photographs Michael has taken during his extensive travels. I use him as my reference for my travel bucket list.

The Dancing Professor (aka Trophos) is a young English professor who talks about her life teaching and outside of teaching. She is scholarly, witty and really says what she means. I tip my hat to her recent analysis of the Iliad.

Yummy Lummy is written by Gary, who finds a delight in food in his busy life as a doctor in charge of public health. I love his posts which always include the food he is cooking or enjoying at the restaurant, or even in flight.

To my nominees: With this award, I would like to express my gratitude to you. I hope you will accept it, but if you find that there are too many questions to answer–I do too and wonder why they have become longer and longer–I don’t see why you can’t exercise poetic license and just pick a few that are meaningful to you to answer and elaborate a little on them. Happy blogging !

7 thoughts on “My Turn to Say Thank You: Reader Appreciation Award

  1. Pingback: Three Awards In A Day: Sisterhood-In-The World-Bloggers Award, Very Inspiring Blogger Award and Sunshine Award | OpallaOnTrails

Leave a Reply

